Hadiya Masieh: On A Mission To Fix The Damage Caused By Extremism

Posted: July 4, 2010 in Islam, Religion, Religious Extremism
Tags: , , ,

I recently wrote about the disgusting chants of a group of Muslim Extremists during a home coming parade by our troops. In the post I said how I wished more Muslims would publicly distance themselves from the warped version of Islam being advanced by extremism.

So I was pleased to read about Hadiya Masieh, a Muslim woman who turned her back on the extremist group who’d brainwashed her into supporting the 9/11 attacks and is condemning those who’ve hijacked her faith. Hadiya now works for the Three Faiths Forum, a group whose aim is to bridge the gap between religions. Given my wish for more condemnation of extremism from the Islamic community I feel I should commend Hadiya.

Anyone familiar with me will know my thoughts on religion and there is plenty wrong with Islam, even in it’s most “liberal” form; but I support anything that aims to drown out the nonsensical noise being made by extremists.

You can read about her story here in the Guardian

Comments
  1. Patmos Pete says:

    Fear God, and give glory to him; for the hour of his judgment is come: and worship him that made heaven, and earth, and the sea, and the fountains of waters.

    • That’s nice Pete, thanks for that enlightening response to my post. It has no relevance, but whatever.

      It’s been longer than an hour since you wrote that, so I can safely tell you “the hour of his judgement” has definitely not come, and I highly doubt it ever will do.

Leave a Reply

