Random Facts Of The Day: Stupid Laws #1-4

Posted: August 25, 2010 in Random, Random Facts Of The Day
Tags: ,

I’m always on the lookout for ways to diversify this blog and post about things other than religion and god. So today I am starting what will become a regular-ish feature: Random Facts Of The Day.

I’m starting with stupid laws and it seems I am spoilt for choice. The USA tops the list of countries with ridiculous laws owing to the fact they have the ability to enact state laws. Historically each state acted as effectively its own country and so over the years many stupid laws have been enacted. Many of these remain to this day due to the fact they’ve simply never been repealed.

But, to avoid appearing anti-American I will begin with a few from our very own great nation the UK. I kid you not, I didn’t just invent these!

Stupid law #1 – It is against the law to be drunk in charge of a cow.

Stupid law #2 – All English males over the age of 14 are to carry out 2 or so hours of longbow practice a week.

Stupid law #3 – You may not fish for salmon on a Tuesday.

Stupid law #4 (and one of my favourites) – The severest penalties will be suffered by any commoner who doth permit his animal to have carnal knowledge (sex for those too 21st century to have heard of “carnal knowledge”) of a pet of the royal house. This law was enacted by King George I

Comments
  1. […] Yesterday I posted with some stupid laws that were once in place in the UK. Today’s stupid laws are yet again […]

Leave a Reply

