Equality & My Disdain For Religion?

Posted: February 22, 2017 in General

I Just want to clarify something.

I believe in equality. That is: I believe that all people should be treated equally regardless of their gender, race, sexuality etc.

Sometimes people have said to me words to the effect of: “How can you claim to support equality when you’re so vocal against the religious and what they believe. This is offensive to the religious, don’t they deserve equality too?”.

So I want to make this clear. I believe in the freedom to believe what you want and also the right to be treated with the same respect as others. But I do not believe that all beliefs are sacred.

People deserve equality. Beliefs are not people.

I will not discriminate against you because of your race, sexuality, gender etc. These are all things that make you who you are. You do not control them. Religion is a choice.

Religion is also a belief system. Your belief is not automatically worthy of respect. It has to be earned. I am entitled to question it, scrutinise it, challenge it and disregard it if I wish.

I will never question your right to believe what you want and I will never disregard you as a person. But the belief itself is not immune.

Religion is the place where you find the most inequality in society. Your right to choose to follow it does not mean I can’t call you out for it.

 

Leave a Reply

